Pumpkin Protein Bars

Remember how I have been all into food? Well, happy people eat, and so I AM.

I’ve always been into “clean eating”, which just basically means eat good, natural foods and stay away from processed food. This means I make dinner every night from scratch (or try to) and make snacks the same way. One of my favorite go-to snacks is the protein bar. I’ve experimented with all kinds and found one recently by accident that is a winner all around. Sharing it with you in case you want to join me in a little healthy self-indulgence!

pumpkin-bars

Image from glutenfreedaddy.com

Pumpkin Protein Bars

Modified from the original recipe found on Gluten Free Daddy.

This was modified on accident, actually. I didn’t read the recipe correctly and ended up adding a whole can of pumpkin and forgetting the baking powder. This turned these bars into a very, yummy pumpkin-pie-like bar that makes it very hard to eat just one. My accidental modification turned out to be the BEST snacking bar I have ever made. Problem? I can’t keep the rest of my family away from them. It being gluten free is an accident, too. We like gluten! 🙂

Ingredients
  • 1 Cup Oat Flour
  • 1 ½ scoops Vanilla Protein Powder
  • ½ tsp Salt
  • 2 tsp Cinnamon
  • ¼ tsp Allspice
  • ¼ tsp Ground Ginger
  • 1/2 Cup Stevia or Splenda (you can do 1/3c brown sugar as well)
  • 3 Eggs
  • 1 15oz Can Pumpkin Puree
  • 1 tsp Vanilla
  • ½ Cup Pecans or Walnuts, chopped (optional)
  • ½ Cup White or Dark Chocolate Chips, melted (optional)
Instructions
  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease an 8×8 glass baking dish.
  • Instructions from original recipe say mix wet and dry ingredients separately and then combine. I just toss it all in and mix. No need to go in any order! 🙂 It honestly makes no difference – try it and see for yourself.
  • Bake for 35 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. They will be the consistency of pumpkin pie. Yum! Drizzle with white chocolate if you want but I don’t do that. It is fine just the way it is.

Since it has whey protein in it you have to keep it refrigerated. It should keep for up to a week, if it lasts that long. I haven’t tried freezing them but they should freeze well.

 

Leave a Reply

