Cabbage Soup

Remember I mentioned my yummy cabbage soup? Well, figured I would share my recipe for it since I’m sure you love cabbage! hahaha I know, it’s not the most favored of veggies but it provides massive amounts of vitamins K & C. A veggie with a punch!

I stumbled across the cabbage soup diet when I was searching for a good cleanse that didn’t starve me to death. I wasn’t into losing weight or fat, so I just took a cabbage soup recipe I liked (there are tons online) and tweaked it. BTW it does serve as an awesome detox/cleanse. I’ve used it many times with great results.

Cabbage Soup

Ingredients

1/4 cup butter
3 cloves of garlic, minced
3 large carrots, sliced
1 large white onion, chopped
4 stalks of celery, sliced
1 container sliced fresh mushrooms
1/2 head of green cabbage, chopped
3 medium potatoes, chopped into 1 inch cubes(peel on or off)
1 large turkey kielbasa, sliced (optional)
2 vegetable bouillon cubes
2 Tbsp parsley (fresh is better)
1 Tbsp ground coriander
1 tsp salt or to taste
1 tsp pepper or to taste
8 cups water

Directions

Chop all the veggies ahead of time and set aside.

In large stock pot melt 1/4 cup of butter and cook celery, mushrooms, garlic and chopped onions until onions are translucent. Add the spices and then add the cabbage, carrots and potatoes. The cabbage should fill the pot so if you didn’t chop enough, don’t worry you can add more once you add the liquid.

Add 8 cups of water and the bouillon. Bring to a boil and then simmer for 30 minutes or until cabbage is translucent.

If you like meat, my favorite thing to do is add some sliced turkey kielbasa. Just toss it in when you are cooking the celery and onions. My kids always fight over the sausage in the soup. 🙂

Crock Pot Recipe

Same ingredients as above without the butter. Just toss it all in and cook on low for 6-8 hours. If you like butter, then you can saute the onions, celery and mushrooms (and sausage) beforehand. I am lazy so I skip that step. lol You can also try substituting onion soup mix for the seasoning.

Fish Soup Alternative

This can also be made into a yummy fish soup recipe. Cook it all up (minus the potatoes) and substitute 1 head of Bok Choy for the green cabbage. You will also saute the Bok Choy, with the onions, celery and carrots. Add liquid and bouillon. Bring to a boil and simmer until carrots are soft. Then bring it back to a boil. Drop 4 frozen tilapia filets one at a time into the soup. The fish will thaw and cook within 5-8 minutes.

My family loves this version of the soup. When I first made it I was trying the GAPS diet and fish soup was one of the recipes. We have been fans ever since.

2 thoughts on “Cabbage Soup

  1. Emma says:

    love your easy cabbage recipe .. you can tell me how many calories in this recipes ?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dayna says:

    Thank you! Approximately 259 calories per cup with the skinless turkey sausage.

    Nutrition Facts
    Servings 8.0
    Amount Per Serving
    calories 259
    % Daily Value *
    Total Fat 12 g 18 %
    Saturated Fat 5 g 26 %
    Monounsaturated Fat 0 g
    Polyunsaturated Fat 0 g
    Trans Fat 0 g
    Cholesterol 46 mg 15 %
    Sodium 1084 mg 45 %
    Potassium 774 mg 22 %
    Total Carbohydrate 24 g 8 %
    Dietary Fiber 4 g 15 %
    Sugars 6 g
    Protein 10 g 20 %
    Vitamin A 98 %
    Vitamin C 62 %
    Calcium 8 %
    Iron 11 %

    Like

Leave a Reply

