Gratefulness Challenge

Today I read an article discussing how to make yourself more optimistic. Since I consider myself a realist (pessimist in denial lol) I figured I would read it all the way through. One of the suggestions was to write down five things every day that you are grateful for. Do it for one week and see how it changes your perspective. I thought it was a good idea, so started today. Funny enough, when I got home tonight a friend on FB had posted that she was participating in a gratefulness challenge. Ha! Love how the universe works!!!

So here are my 5 things for today in no particular order. 🙂

I am grateful for:

  • The sun and warmth today. A thunderstorm hit in the early morning hours but as the sun rose, the sky cleared and it warmed to 72 degrees. My kind of day!
  • My three beautiful children. They bring me joy every day.
  • My health.
  • My job and the financial security it brings me.
  • My home/Home.

I plan to do this for at least a week, maybe longer. I will try to post daily, but that may or may not happen considering I am back to work full-time. Join me if you like! 🙂

In Other News…..

I woke my two oldest up early and sent them to the bus stop and they didn’t have school today. Ooops! lolol

All day my heart chakra has been fired up – higher heart, too. My throat has also been very active. Feels like a snake is wound around it and trying to choke me. Ugh. Thankfully, no sickness. Knock on wood.

During my lunch break I saw this sitting across from me:

img_20170102_140259202_hdr.jpg

No big deal except that it is. I saw it the first time on 12/12/16 and forgot about it. It came along with more 11’s than I could count. When I saw it today I laughed because I realized this box has been sitting there the entire time I’ve been working at this place. Look really closely where it comes from…..

img_20170102_183238.jpg

Sometimes I think Tennessee is stalking me. LOL

Finally, just because it was so odd – On my commute home today at 4pm I was behind two very obviously drunk drivers. One was on a four lane highway scaring everyone who tried to pass them, the other on the interstate. I mentally sent them a note: New Year’s Eve was two days ago…. 😉

 

 

6 thoughts on “Gratefulness Challenge

  1. artistpath says:

    I started a gratitude jar this year. I write one thing I’m grateful for at the end of each day and put it in the jar. I’ve tried journaling the five things a day but never kept it up all year. I will say though, that taking a moment to count your blessings puts a smile on your face. Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Karin says:

    I love the idea of the gratitude list. I don’t do it daily, but I keep a long list where I put in events/things that happened. Sometimes just taking the list out and re-reading older entries from former months put me back into a good mood.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kittyasmith says:

    I found this at a timely moment. I have been going through some major shifts and have been very withdrawn. How funny, the 11s are flying at me from every direction beginning on 1/1/2017 (2+0+1+7=10=1) at 11:11. Every day is filled with 11s and 2s.

    I started a gratitude bowl last year, that lasted for two months. Yes, it is time to start again.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

