Remembering George Michael

Growing up in the 80’s, I loved Wham!, but especially George Michael. I had posters of him on my bedroom wall (yeah) and he was really my only popstar crush, besides Richard Marx that is. lol When the news came out that he was homosexual (actually bisexual) I was really bummed.

I never really got into music like other kids my age or like my sister, who was crazy into music and still is. I credit my sister for introducing me to any and all music I listened to up until I entered high school. Music like Madonna, Heart, T’Pau, Chicago, Michael Jackson,  The Bangles, Duran Duran, Foreigner, REO Speedwagon, Tears for Fears, Pet Shop Boys, Genesis,  U2, etc. You get the idea. My sister had the records (later cassettes) and I just listened because she played music all.the.time and use to do pretend music videos with my cousin. LOL Later, I developed my own preferences in music, shifting to the alternative rock and grunge genre but there will always be a special place in my heart for the music of the 80’s.

Last week, in the days leading up to Christmas, I kept hearing George Michael songs playing. At one point I took notice because it was so rampant, like every radio station was playing his music. The song I remember playing the most was Faith, but there was also an old Wham! song playing, I think it was Careless Whisper.

I forgot all about the repeating songs until I found out about his death. Then all the memories kinda clicked and I thought, “Maybe I was getting a heads up? Hmmm.”

This morning I woke up with one of his songs in my head for some reason:  Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me, with Elton John. It seemed like another reminder. I wondered about it. Perhaps I needed to reflect on that time period in my life again? Considering I have been dreaming about giving away a younger version of myself (inner child perhaps) maybe this is a sign that I am letting go of the past, or a part of myself that is not longer useful. Deep, inner healing and clearing necessary for moving forward?

Mostly I liked George Michael’s music in the mid-80’s when he was still a part of Wham! When I hear those old songs I tend to be transported back to that time in my life. It’s instant and so are the feelings that accompany it. There is an opening of awareness of Self, like the very first lighting of an inner fire, that took place when I was about 10 years old and continued through high school. Every song from that time period seems imprinted in my memory with events, like a photo album in my mind, but the music and voice of George Michael will always have a special place in my heart/life/memory.

Here are just some of my most favorite George Michael songs. Enjoy!

Here is a link to the most popular hits of his career if you want to hear more.

 

7 thoughts on “Remembering George Michael

  1. MollyB111 says:

    SYNC!! ❤ and linking!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. […] Quite symbolic now that I think about it.  And you know how much I love music – George Michael and Wham was popular in my teen years.  With songs like, Wake me up before you go, Freedom, Faith and One More Try … yup.  He was a part of my journey.  Ha… and not mine alone, for many.  Check out Dayna’s post. […]

    Liked by 1 person

  3. herongrace says:

    Yeah all that 80s music was the backdrop to me running around back then having lots of freedom and a pretty good time. Rick Parfitt died a few days before, the end of The Status Quo? And I was sad yesterday to hear of the death of Carrie Fisher. I saw her on t.v. a few nights before. This Tower year not going out quietly.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. litebeing says:

    I read this earlier and came back to respond. George Michael was hot and I was disheartened ( but not surprised ) to learn he was gay. We have different favorites. I loved loved loved Father Figure ( so spiritual) I’m your Man ( so NOT spiritual, lol), Knew You Were Waiting, and Freedom. Of course there were others. His voice was so wonderful and he was so cute and it was the 80s. 1987 was when Faith came out and the was my first Saturn Venus transit where I fell hard for a Saturnian man ( fated love) and it is interesting that George died on my second Saturn Venus transit ( the return). I may blog on it, but in the mean time it is cool to hear your story. My musical taste is all over the map, but I have a fondness of the stars who came of age in the 80s who are around my own age, like Whitney Houston, MIchael Hutchence, Prince, Madonna, George Michael, Mariah Carey ( a little younger but I really liked her early music). I saw a video of George and Whitney together and I was like wow, they are both dead now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dayna says:

      That is interesting about your Saturn Venus transit and how it corresponds to G.M. I had dreams last night including some other music that influenced me – Metallica and Guns n’ Roses. There are so many, most of which I forget until I hear their music played on the radio. I feel old, though, because they are considered oldies now. Sigh.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

