Play

I had a really good day today. Why? Because half of my job is playing. Yep. lol I get to play with little ones and listen to them jabber about their life problems. Something about playing makes problems seem so much smaller. Ever noticed that? I have.

Then there was the not so fun part of my day, but even that was quite entertaining. I got to play teacher for two class periods today. The 5th graders were perfect students. The 2nd graders, not so perfect and quite a bit hyper. lol But since half my time with them was reading a book by Weird Al Yankovic (yeah him! lol) we all had a good time.

I came home full of energy despite being awake since 4am (again) and did a short workout. Last week I skipped working out all week so as to help myself adjust. I actually think that was a mistake, though, because I always feel so much better after a workout. πŸ™‚

But anyway, work is proving quite surprising and I am having fun having fun. lol Nothing better than getting paid to play and watch kids be kids. They are so entertaining and funny. Especially the kindergartners. Hahahah I had one ask me how old I was, which I then told him. He said to me, “My mom is so much older than you. She’s 19!!” He was so sure that 19 was bigger than the number I gave him. Too cute!

And today I made several new 2nd grader friends even though the classes I taught were (in my opinion) out of control. One girl told me about her class, “We’re always like that.” lol Then others of her class gave me hugs. I must have made an impression. And I really, really love little people hugs now.

Then still now when I go to get a student “friend” I have two or three others ask me, “Are you taking me??” When I tell them, “Not today”, the look on their sad little faces melts my heart. I’ve never been so loved and wanted in my life.

All of this has transformed my relationship with my own children. I find myself less serious with them and more goofy – making funny faces and telling jokes. I don’t normally do that! I hug them when I get home, ask them about their days and give them kisses. Not that I wasn’t happy to see them before, but now I see them through new eyes. The eyes of a mommy elementary school counselor. Pretty cool combo to be blessed with.

I’m excited tonight because I get to practice on my kids with two books I will be using in counseling lessons. I teach two kindergarten classes tomorrow on the topic of respecting other people’s property. We are reading Goldilocks and the Three Bears. Then Wednesday I get to read a book about tattle-tails called Bad Case of Tattle Tongue. That one’s gonna be fun! Can’t wait to see the kids reactions. πŸ™‚

My experience thus far has me re-evaluating my career plans….again. I am even considering revisited my LPC. I only have three classes and an internship left. Whether I will do it, I don’t know yet, but working playing with little ones all the time is very appealing right now.

 

8 thoughts on “Play

  1. MollyB111 says:

    Loving this new you ❀

    Liked by 2 people

  2. truthcodex says:

    Wonderful to hear about your playing, how joyous! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Karin says:

    How great to hear that you are having so much fun.
    That is encouraging that what guidance suggests might be fun , even if we don’t think at first that we will like it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

