Take Care of Your Body

I’ve been receiving a recurring message lately and have not been paying much attention to it because I understood and have been making the suggested changes. However, today, it occurred to me that maybe the reason the message continues to repeat is because I need to share it. That seems to be the pattern of late, anyway.

The message is simply: Take care of your body. This I understood was to prepare the body for the upsurge in energies which are coming in now. Higher intensity energies all the time and increasing as the year continues. This means our bodies must be able to handle these energies or else face overload. Overload = illness or other irritating bodily changes ranging from mild fatigue to IBS and migraines.

So I have been getting myself back on track. I eat clean, get plenty of rest, and exercise five or more times a week. I cut out alcohol, nicotine, and all man-made drugs from over the counter painkillers to allergy medications. I drink tons of water and take several supplements including a daily probiotic (50 million), daily multivitamin, vitamin E, Tumeric, Vitex and Maca root.

But today while in the midst of working out an entire blog post popped into my head. This is unusual because I do some pretty intense workouts. So intense that even having a thought is difficult because the focus is all on the body and getting through the workout. lol

The idea was to reassert the importance of being physically fit now. It’s not just, “Oh, I’ll take some walks a few times a week, skip the dessert and take vitamins and then I will be healthy.” Nope. That’s not gonna be enough. Your body is a machine and it needs to be fine tuned (tuned up) for the energy onslaught coming our way. It’s time to pay attention to your body because what you have put into it up to this point is going to directly affect how it responds to these energies.

On top of this message I heard that I needed to share with you what I do. This isn’t because I am some kind of expert at taking care of my body. I am by no means perfect. However, my health and physical fitness are one of my top priorities.

This is what a normal week in my life looks like:

Exercise

5 or more days per week. Varied workouts ranging from intense HIIT, plyo, and weight training intermixed with Hatha Yoga at least twice a week. At least 30 minutes per workout but I aim for 1 hour workouts. Usually I end up working out twice a week for an hour, twice a week for 30 minutes and once a week for 45 minutes. Anything on top of that is a bonus.

Here’s an example of one of the workouts I do at home (this guy is awesome):

All of this guy’s videos will kick your butt, so beware!

Here is another YouTube example. I do a lot of workouts at home as you can guess. This lady is lower paced than the guy above and great on days when I just can’t handle another burpee or mountain climber. lol

I typically only visit the gym once a week. I would go more often if could. When I do go, I usually lift heavy and stick to the free weights.

Diet

I have been eating Clean since 2011. What is Clean eating? Basically, it means you avoid all processed foods, eat more fruits and vegetables, eat less sugar, and go organic whenever you can. This article is exactly what I do. You can also check out Tosca Reno’s website. I own one of her cookbooks and it is awesome! Also, I don’t eat to lose weight. I hate that it is marketed that way. It is no FAD and will not work that way. It is a lifestyle change.

One aspect of Clean Eating that I swear by is eating five or six small meals a day. This is how kids eat and how we as adults should eat but we don’t and it royally screws up our metabolism.

We seem to eat all the time in my house. In fact, we eat two breakfasts every morning. 🙂 I have oatmeal, oat bran or a protein smoothie with greens for my first breakfast. For the second one (with the kids) we usually have scrambled eggs (2 eggs and 5 whites) with cheese and whole grain English muffins. For lunch we often have leftovers from dinner. Then there is a snack around 3pm, usually a smoothie for me and fruits/veggies for the kids, maybe some yogurt. For dinner, I cook a meal from scratch every night if I can. Rarely do we order out or eat out. Usually there is another tiny meal before bedtime because me and the kids are hungry by 8pm. This is my peanut butter time. Yum! I actually sometimes have to eat in the middle of the night. Yeah, I eat A TON.

Meditation/Rest/Fun

I meditate daily, usually at night, sometimes multiple times a day. Sometimes I do guided meditations but mostly I just relax, quiet my mind and settle down for a half hour or so. My favorite time to meditate is after yoga. For some reason after yoga I go directly into the zone and often into a light trance. A great website for free yoga is http://www.doyogawithme.com. This is one of my favorite classes by David Procyshyn. There is a guided meditation afterward and I almost always end up in the trance state.

Resting can also be taking a walk or lounging by the pool, even swimming (for me) is relaxing. Whatever calms you down.

I struggle with the fun part, unfortunately. Gotta have more fun. I did an indoor sky dive once that qualified. That was awesome! More vacations need to be scheduled, too.

My History

I have not always been healthy minded. In high school and college a typical breakfast for me was a glass of chocolate milk with Nestle’s Quik and two brown sugar cinnamon pop tarts. Talk about sugar overload! I use to bake chocolate chip cookies and eat a half dozen while cooking them. lol Total sugar addict. A workout was mowing the lawn. lol I didn’t look bad, though I was much heavier than I am now. I think I wore a size 9/10 in high school and weighed about 145lbs. Now I wear a size 6 and weigh 134lbs. I am 5’6″.

I started running when I was 19. I had to take a PE class in college and they made me run. However, I got addicted to running and by the time I was in my thirties I was running five or six times a week for 3-6 miles at a time. I ran during my first two pregnancies. After my daughter was born I ran a 10k and after my son was born I ran a half marathon. I stopped running because my dog, Trooper, died. He was my running buddy and it was just not the same without him.

I began full on weight training in 2011. I mean like body building. Yeah, crazy, I know. I did this while also pursuing my master’s degree and working full-time. I continued to lift through my third pregnancy but afterward I experienced major burnout and dropped full-time work and weight lifting. It was just too much. Whoever it was that said three kids is easier than two is a liar. lol

None of this was rainbows and butterflies. I have a tendency to become obsessive about things I like to do, and I like to exercise and I like to look good. I am working on it. Everything in moderation. I like to think I have come full circle now. My focus now is on being healthy and feeling good more than anything. Looking good is just a byproduct.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Take Care of Your Body

  1. kittyasmith says:

    Very helpful and encouraging, thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

