Dream: Flying Whale

I slept extremely well last night despite this lingering cold. I was gifted with a brilliantly vivid dream, one that left me feeling full of hope.

Dream: Flying Whale

I visited Montana in my dreams last night. I lived there from 1997-2001, mostly in the areas of Helena and Bozeman. The mountains in that area are spectacular. No matter how miserable I was, if I looked up at the mountains I would instantly be reminded of the splendor and wonder of this planet we call Earth. Mountains remind me of Home so I often return to Montana in my dreams.

I was visiting with my old family alongside my current family. We were reminiscing about old times. Specifically, I was traveling the route between Bozeman and Helena, one I drove every weekend, sometimes more, during my college years attending Montana State. I pointed out Lake Townsend (Canyon Ferry Lake) and other landmarks. I was laughing a lot and very relaxed.

We stopped along the side of the road and walked among some boulders. The people I was with changed, though. They were now students and I was standing next to an Asian girl who broke her glasses. To the left was a crystal clear body of water and across from the water were cabins, all of them unoccupied. The pond or stream reminded me of the many creeks and beaver ponds that dotted Montana. I noticed there were very large fish swimming in the water and kept commenting on how clear the water was. It was very beautiful.

At one point I was standing with my mom and heard a strange cry. It sounded like a cross between a hawk and a whale. A shadow blocked the sun and we looked up and there was a whale flying in the sky! My mom said, “Oh, look a dragon!” I said, “That’s not a dragon! That’s a whale!”. The whale was blue with a silver tinge to it and it kept circling overhead. I frantically began to look for my cell phone to take a picture. When I found it and pointed it at the whale the sun was too bright and the only image I could capture was bright, white light.

The whale flew off over the mountains. I remember thinking it sometimes looked more like a giant manatee than a whale.

Interpretation

Apparently flying whales are somewhat common dream symbols. Not for me, though! lol Dreamoods.com says that a flying whale “symbolizes an enormous sense of freedom from letting down your emotional wall. You feel that a huge weight has been lifted”. No wonder I felt so positive after that dream. 🙂

The significance of this dream is that my old family and current family were together and I was happy. When I lived in Montana I was miserable most of the time. I don’t know why. In fact, when I lived in or visited places I found intensely beautiful or spiritual I was often horribly sad or depressed. It was like being there made the misery I felt inside that much more obvious. Such a stark contrast – me and the mountains. Them so powerful and majestic, me so cowardly and insignificant.

I wonder if I could go back there now and finally enjoy the mountains? It feels like I have made my peace with them.

Photography credits: Picture of Bridger Mountains outside Bozeman

11 thoughts on “Dream: Flying Whale

  1. SKYLAR A says:

    Yesssss! For starters in Mt Shasta!👯👯👯

    Liked by 1 person

  2. herongrace says:

    Mmm…The “flying whale ” sounds like a subconscious pun for a spacecraft to me. I know I have dreams that can not actually show any alien images, but can only resort to symbols hiding any alien references which must be excavated by the conscious mind.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Dayna says:

      I actually thought of that but since I found flying whales were common in dreams I figured it was likely just a dream. But who knows, right?

      Like

      • herongrace says:

        Yep…Strange big owls are another common symbol and no doubt many others. Like I said I’ve had to excavate to realise that there was a big hide probably happening to what the subconscious couldn’t say directly.

        Liked by 2 people

      • Dayna says:

        Well, considering I have actually had OBEs inside of space craft and out, I would wonder why they would go to all the trouble to disguised one as a whale? lol

        Like

      • herongrace says:

        Dudes got a bent sense of humour Lol!!
        It’s how they operate a lot. Also to do with the ego pre awakening saying “no way you are not bringing that info back!”

        Liked by 2 people

  3. […] thought I was celebrating new found freedome? Isn’t that what the flying whale dream was all about? Then I see I only cleared out one room. ONE. I have probably 13 rooms at least. Or […]

    Like

  4. Vidar Johansen says:

    Wow. This night I had a most realistic and vivid dream. Very similar to yours (I found this site typing “dream of flying whale” in google).

    I too was visiting a place significant for me in my childhood. Standing in a high area, next to boulders, looking out towards the sea, My mom was there too, but no other people.. First we saw two flying turtles (big sea turtle type). and they made a sircle over our heads. Then they flew away, and two gigantic whales came flying right over us.. The funny thing is I can’t remember having had dreams for a long time. But this one stuck with me all day.

    Just fascinated by the similarities with the dream you had..

    Vidar, Norway

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

