Temple Grandin

If you haven’t seen this movie, you should. It is free on Amazon Prime if you have a subscription.

When I was working as a school counselor, I primarily worked with autistic children. This was not my first encounter with children on the spectrum – I once taught a student with Asperger’s Syndrome – but it was my first ever experience with small groups of them. The occupational therapist (OT) who worked alongside me knew a ton about Autism and often mentioned Temple Grandin. I had watched some of Temple’s lectures at the OT’s request, but never watched the movie about her life. Now I wish I had. This movie is superb.

In September, 2014, I wrote a post about Autism and ascension. I have not thought much about it until now. Why? Well, while watching the movie about Temple Grandin I burst into tears more than once. This movie is not the typical tear-jerker, so why did it make me cry so much?

My thoughts when I would cry were linked to being misunderstood, overly sensitive, and an empath. All of these things were present in the movie, though the empath part was not prevalent in Temple Grandin’s story except when she worked with animals. I also cried because I knew that Temple and others like her were very, very special. Not just special in that they are considered Special Needs by the education system, but because their brains and the way they process information is special. Finally, I sympathized with Temple’s inability to understand humans and their complicated social system. She didn’t understand why girls cared only about boys or why people thought she was mad all the time and never happy. Facial cues were a complete mystery to her. Now, I don’t have the social ineptitude that she does, but I have long been made frustrated by human social interaction – the untruths, outright lies, peer-pressure, sex/gender stereotypes, roles, etc.

Considering all of this, I can’t help but conclude, once again, that autism is intricately linked to the new Hueman. I don’t believe we will all eventually be autistic. No. It is more that autism and the various levels that exist therein are preparing humanity, forcing us to change the way we view learning, so that we can better accommodate the starchildren.

 

9 thoughts on “Temple Grandin

  1. Laura Moore says:

    My mind is blown…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dayna says:

    Watch the movie. It will blow you away.

    Like

  3. Fungi2bwith says:

    Yes, I have been looking for good recommendations, thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Durinda says:

    I loved the book by Dr. Meg Blackburn Losey, The Children of Now. She also has a few others, A very good book covering this topic.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Durinda says:

    I looked up her book, it sounds like a very interesting read.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

