3 Dreams

It was difficult for me to sleep last night. I kept waking up and it was too cold in our house. I finally got another blanket and fell asleep at around 2:30am.

My dreams were many and they had a similar theme. I was in another person’s life (or so it seemed) in each dream. In these lives I felt to be this other person fully.

Dream 1: Young Person in Greece

In the first dream, I was a young boy of about 12, maybe younger. I felt to be remembering a portion of my life. I recall running home from school. I took a route where there was construction and remember feeling tiny pebbles hurting my bare feet. I thought, “I shouldn’t have gone this way! I knew these rocks were here. Ouch!”

Around the corner I met up with an older boy and a girl at a restaurant. The boy offered to buy us food so I accepted. It was brought to our table by a round woman who we all knew. The food was not dissimilar to food I have eaten at Greek restaurants, which I why I assume I was in Greece.

After we ate, I ran home and remember again that I was barefoot because I could feel the wet grass under my feet and the cold concrete of the pavement.

Then I could see the young girl from the restaurant. She and the boy sat close and she knew he liked her. She was tall and very plain, most boys didn’t like her. But he did. I remember the round lady told the boy, “You would be better liked if you didn’t smell!”

Dream 2: Young Person in Japan

I was with a friend in an apartment. We were sitting and having tea. We heard our friend coming in and played a joke on her, hiding the tea under the table and then pretending to sleep. The tea was in small, Asian cups as was the teacup – my first hint of where I was.

We heard that the weather was changing and snow was forecast. I yelled, “Snow!” and my friend said, “We should go to _____ house” (can’t remember the name now). I said to him, “It is just snow, not an earthquake”, but I went with him anyway.

We arrived at his father’s house where soup was being served. We all sat down and it was suggested we invite the neighbors. We were in a large apartment building with many levels. A young girl came in and we both were happy she was there. I knew my friend was interested in her. He passed a spoon to her and their eyes locked. I saw he was Asian then, and knew I was also.

I remembered looking out the window and seeing that we were high up and across the way was another apartment building of many, many stories. We were obviously in a large city.

The feeling of the impending earthquake overshadowed the entire scene but I enjoyed the feeling that permeated the scene: everyone was family in that complex. We helped one another and enjoyed each others company.

Dream 3: Cleaning Fish Tanks

In this dream I was a child assisting my mother with cleaning out two fish tanks. I don’t recall much of this dream except that we transferred fish into the tank and one was near death. I worked to revive him by turning on the bubbler. I could vividly see the fish swimming around the 10 gallon tank and a frog-like creature swimming without its head (weird).

While in this dream I remembered a time in my own life when I had a nice 20 gallon tank in my apartment. I had to sell it when moving and wished I had not for it was much better than the one I was currently seeing in my dream.

I awoke at this time thinking of old memories, memories of times long past. I don’t remember the specifics now but I recall being told not to linger on them as I was purging unnecessary memories.

Considerations

It is my feeling that these dreams were actual lives somewhere in present time. They could be in another dimension or in this one but for sure they are part of me, as in an aspect of myself living right now. I felt to be visiting in order to experience what they were. I remember the feelings the most. In the Greek life I remember the feeling of first love, when two young people are attracted but do not know how to proceed. The nervous-anticipation was palpable. It was the same in the Japanese life except there was this large, family group feeling – we all were family even though not by blood. The new love was also there but this time I recognized how it contrasted to my own life and the fear of rejection and ridicule that so often accompanied it. I knew in this Japanese life that no one would ridicule the new love but it would be accepted and honored.

I believe I was shown these lives to show me my connection to the world and the very different experiences others are having right now. The earthquake bothers me some because of the large city I was in. Is this perhaps meaning one is coming? I don’t know, but I know the people there will rely on one another in a way we Americans would find surprising.

 

4 thoughts on “3 Dreams

  1. herongrace says:

    I remember a portion of a dream quite clearly where my sister and I were walking up a barren, rocky hill in Greece on a sunny day. I am sure it was Greece, as there were old olive trees along the right side of the dirt track and I somehow had that knowledge. Interesting as I have never travelled overseas apart from N.Z., but I felt that we were there in some form.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. bea says:

    Thank you. I have memories of Greece also but not very pleasant.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

