Remember, It’s an Experience

I wanted to share with you the insight I received yesterday.

An expected delivery arrived at our home and it was soon learned that there would be a significant fee, like a COD, in order to receive the shipment. This was unexpected and upset me. I began to feel the familiar upset rising from within and so extracted myself from the situation as soon as I could. Thankfully my husband was able to handle it for me.

Once inside, I was thinking about the situation and heard quite suddenly, “Remember, it’s an experience”. With this I realized the truth in this statement. An experience is just that – an experience. It does not imply preference for one outcome or another. It is simply “the contact with and observation of facts and events”.

It is I who was applying a preference for one outcome or another. With this application invariably comes either disappointment or acceptance and the varying feelings that go along with each.

Through expectation I submit myself to becoming the effect of my experience. I did not have to do that.

With this revelation, I removed myself from any expectation and felt the upset vanish immediately. There was such an emotional release that I began to laugh out loud as I prepared dinner.

I am so very grateful to my Companion for his simple reminder to me. What a difference it made!

4 thoughts on “Remember, It’s an Experience

  1. truthcodex says:

    Wow. I JUST posted something very similar regarding emotional releases. Haha. Synchronicity? I think so!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

